

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

March 7, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Governor Hochul Reappoints Judicial Conduct Commission Chair Joseph W. Belluck

Joseph W. Belluck, founding partner of the Manhattan law firm of Belluck & Fox, LLP, has been reappointed to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct by Governor Kathy Hochul, for a four-year term commencing April 1, 2024. Of the 11 Commission members, four are appointed by the Governor, three by the Chief Judge, and four by the leaders of the Legislature.

Mr. Belluck was first appointed to the Commission in 2008 by then-Governor David A. Paterson. He has served as Chair since 2016, by election of the Commission every two years, pursuant to statute.

Mr. Belluck is a graduate of the State University of New York at Binghamton and the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law, where he served as Articles Editor of the Buffalo Law Review.

Mr. Belluck's law practice focuses on asbestos and serious injury litigation. He previously served as counsel to the New York State Attorney General, representing the State of New York in its litigation against the tobacco industry, as a judicial law clerk for Justice Lloyd Doggett of the Texas Supreme Court, as staff

attorney for Public Citizen in Washington, D.C., and as Director of Attorney Services for Trial Lawyers Care, an organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to victims of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks.

Mr. Belluck has lectured frequently on asbestos, product liability, tort law and tobacco control policy. He is an active member of several bar associations, including the New York State Trial Lawyers Association and was a recipient of the New York State Bar Association's Legal Ethics Award. He is also a member of the SUNY Board of Trustees, Chair of the New York State Cannabis Advisory Board, and sits on the board of several not-for-profit organizations.

Additional information on Mr. Belluck and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

Statement by Commission Chair Joseph W. Belluck

"I am grateful to Governor Hochul for reappointing me to the Judicial Conduct Commission, and I am honored to continue its important work and constitutional mission: to oversee judicial ethics-enforcement professionally and fairly throughout New York State."

Background on the Commission

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

<u>IMEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT</u>

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2024
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2024
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Graham B. Seiter, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025